Revenge fucking: or how to get your spouse to give up his SF hoard.

Some time back three couples descended into our republic and started browsing, when one of ladies was at the desk billing, I mention that we buy pre-loved Non-fiction, Science Fiction and literature the lady immediately says please help me get my husband to reduce some of his SF collection – it is overwhelming our mix at home, the husband states he will part with his books after his death. Here is a little strange experience that might help you on your quest madam…

sex_in_the_21st_century

sex in the 21st century

Bangalore being the huge metropolis has all kinds of associations, clubs, NGO’s and self help groups. Through a friend who was recently divorced, a double date was set up with me having a blind date with a not so recently divorced lady.

The evening was good and conversation was stimulating without trying to hard. The lady takes me to her (and her former husbands library) I was a little overwhelmed with the selection of SF books, mostly low cost paperbacks from the golden age of SF (HFS! I kid you not the selection was awesome) besides the usual suspects – Asimov, Bradbury, Heinlein, Clarke, Dick – there were copies of Campbell, Silverberg, Van Vogt, Bester, Vance and Doc Smith.

I was grunting and cooing while going through the selection, the lady states that her hubby (former) had asked her to sell his SF selection en masse for whatever price she could fetch. While estimating a price for the lot, she comes up to me real close (too close for comfort while considering a business transaction) she whispers that I could have the lot for a hundred bucks (Stay strong, be fair, do not take undue advantage of the situation), I say that I could not take the books at that price, it would just be unfair to the man who had spent a lot of time and love collecting the books.

She says OK, you can have it for two hundred rupees. I tell her that I get where she was heading to and putting my self in the mans shoes I would feel really fucked and could not take them at such a low price. She then starts crying stating that her former is banging a hot 20 something poet (ugh a poet) and cannot stand the sight of his books and wanted to erase all traces of physical memory. Here is a fully grown beautiful and intelligent woman, suffering.

I make a fair offer and she says she will take half the amount, I accept and the deal was done.

So back to the lady who was asking for help at the store, this is one case of how to undo a reluctant hoarders treasure trove of SF, another way might be to ask nicely, have a compromise and perhaps say if you were to give it to your local library a lot more people could benefit… That might work, given the alternative of revenge fucking to get rid of your spouses SF hoard.

2 thoughts on “Revenge fucking: or how to get your spouse to give up his SF hoard.

  1. I’ve been reading your blog at work (I don’t know why I’m getting dirty looks from the boss-man), and you are fucking awesome! I’m sending out a lot of love and hugs to you and your store!

Leave a Reply

