Two couples or somtimes shit gets really fucking weird.

On this day of Eid we have had a couple of interactions with customers at the store which for the lack of a better word have to be classified as plain weird…

You might want to read to this music for mood (It was playing in the background when this played out)

Walk into the store after a beautiful coffee from India Coffee House to Ludvig Van Beethoven and two little ladies in the clearance section (We are liquefying pulp at 25 and a guy selling Kiwis walks in (no kidding) here is an image to prove it…

Kiwis_in_a_bookstore

Kiwis in a bookstore

The guy is asking for retail price which I was not willing to pay as he was not retailing (no rent so I am entitled to a cheaper price) we were haggling for a while and the ladies come to the desk and ask if a 1965 copy of the Himalayan Blunder was on clearance sale. I say no and ask the girl where she got the book from, she says from the travel writing section (I get pissed that the book was in this section and not the non fiction section) No mam it is not on the clearance price, the sticker price is 390. She says it is such an old book and should be cheaper. I say lets look it up on amagon, it was more expensive including a 150 delivery charge, she says it should be cheaper in your store, there is no delivery charge. I say the price sticks unless she buys above five hundred then she gets a 20% discount (I’m still angry at this time as to why the book was in the fucking travel writing section)

The lady bursts my thought bubble by repeating her request for a lower price, I repeat what I just said, point to our discount policy sign and she says she wants only this book and I loose it, I say the price I mentioned sticks and if she wanted to continue this discussion she would have to speak to my colleague, who was rolling on the ground laughing seeing me steaming, the ladies leave grumbling/mumbling…

Kiwi guy and I strike a deal, man I have never had a Kiwi in the store, it is Eid so I buy three boxes as Eid gifts for my crew, take a photo of the guy as it was really strange buying Kiwis in the store. Another couple who were in the clearance section who were privy to the earlier discussion walk up to the desk. The guy brings four books and asks if they all were on sale, only one was and I point out, the guy selects three books and the lady comes up to the counter, this is where the really fun part starts…

The guy picks a copy of this book

Edward_Gorey_the_recently_deflowered_girl

Edward Gorey the recently deflowered girl

A little embarrassed about the contents I say it is art, I ask them if they have heard of Tim Burton, they both chime together (or was it separately – I forget) YES! Well Burton has a heavy influence of Edward Gorey who has done the art for the book. She starts leafing through the book and I say, hey you should read a piece, it is really funny.

Lo and behold the lady starts reading passages from the book out aloud – Deflowerment in Doctor’s office (laughing heartily in between) man looks down embarrassingly, lady moves on to Deflowered by Chinese Detective (laughing hilariously) man starts sweating, Deflowerment by Fraternity Boy – Oh no that would be no fun, jump to Deflowerment on Day after wedding (giggling and laughing – saying this is brilliant) man asks for how much his bill is and says she can add her books to his bill to get the discount, the lady says no I will not deny the man his price, I will bill it separately. Then Deflowered during trans Atlantic flight (while laughing throughout the whole passage) the man asks how much the book is (probably thinking if he buys the book for her she would stop reading out loud) by this time I was in tears and my colleague was again in less than 20 minutes rolling on the floor in laughter. The man is short of 10 bucks and asks the lady for the deficit, the lady retorts man you are so demanding while handing over the bill.

The guy does not buy the book, the lady pays and says those girls were really tough on you, I tell her that usually I repeat myself three times beyond that I either flip out or delegate the irritation… I then mention that we buy literature, nonfiction and science fiction – the lady goes no non fiction – NO FUN! while chuckling, they then start heading out the store and while on the staircase asks us if we do deliveries, I say sometimes thinking she was seriously asking – she starts laughing again and says she was joking and promises to be back to the store, dear God please send this woman back soon when i am at the store.

I would like to make babies with this kind of a woman.

Edward Gorey Recently_Deflowered_Girl

Edward Gorey Recently Deflowered Girl

Leave a Reply

