Preoccupied

Preoccupied

Adjective

1. completely engrossed in thought; absorbed.

2. previously occupied; taken; filled.

Today is the tenth of the month, the tenth of the fucking month and that means payday at the good republic.

We went a little overboard last month with the expenses (we bought a whole fucking library).

The mind is a little over stressed with figuring out if we have made it this month.

While accounting is crunching numbers a customer walks in.

Starts by saying (LOUDLY) OH I LEFT SOME BOOKS THE LAST TIME I CAME IN, ABOUT A MONTH AGO.

This is while billing was billing another customer.

Please give me a minute says billing.

DO YOU REMEMBER ME I CAME WITH MY FRIEND ABOUT A MONTH AGO?

We see a lot of faces every day in the store and sometimes memory falters (ie unless you are a Scandinavian bombshell)

OK, I SEE MY BOOKS NOW, I AM SO SURPRISED THAT YOU HAVE KEPT THEM FOR ME.

Billing smiles and says “We are cool like that”

Accounting is working the numbers again.

OH! YOU HAVE THE TWO VERSIONS OF HARRY POTTER THAT I WANTED, WHEN DID YOU GET IT?

Not really sure madam, we buy books every day.

WILL YOU LET ME KNOW WHEN YOU GET A COPY OF SO-AND-SOH…..

Accounting cant keep up.

NO, we will do no such thing.

WELL, you seem different from the last time I came to the store, have you changed?

(Bashfully thinking she is talking about my shiny head, just buzzed it and trimmed the beard today, shut up vanity)

Do you mean attitude wise?

YES.

I am sorry, thing is I am a roller-coaster-ride-kindof-a-person. Today is pay day, and the mind is concerned with paying salaries.

Come into the store half an hour later and I could be a completely different person, I have been called MSPD a couple of times.

It is not that we are crazy (hell which sane person would want to run a book store in this day and age?)

Sometimes, we are just a little preoccupied.

p.s. We made all salaries with a little extra to boot, I am going out for a fucking drink tonight.

Leave a Reply

