Why we do what we do.

This really sweet person walks into the store and starts gushing about how awesome it must be working at a book store and asks why is it that we run the store.For the first time in my life probably I quote an author that I love, while holding up my arms JC-on-wood-style.

“I spread my pitiful, deluded arms wide. I wanted to hold the city, each woman and child and animal and man. I wanted to save them.”

Wow, that is really intense, did you just make that up? No, its from Narcopolis by Jeet Thayil, probably the best contemporary writer in India. You might want to read him pronto. To answer your question in one word, its probably “love”.

Jeet Thayil Narcopolis

Jeet Thayil Narcopolis

Leave a Reply

