Striking up friendships in book shops by Aditi Machado

Here is a neat article by Aditi Machado.

1. Striking up friendships in book shops

“When I’m browsing in a book shop alone, I always feel this urge to make friends with fellow shoppers. S/he likes books, I think, that’s the right person for me. No, I am not looking for love. But just as naïvely as someone who does, I expect to find a magical creature who completes my reading self. Someone who happens to notice me digging through the poetry section, and say, ‘Hey, I hope I’m not intruding, but I hid Louise Bogan at the back of that shelf there. I don’t know why I did that, I already have piles and piles of Bogan at home. Maybe I hid it because I was afraid someone unworthy would find it. But you don’t look unworthy at all. Hi, I’m …’

The entire article can be read here

Aditi Machado

Leave a Reply

